NAM Honors Two New Members From KPSOM

Humphrey, Lee, among those inducted into organization recognizing achievement in health and science

October 17, 2022

Kaiser Permanente Bernard J. Tyson School of Medicine Board Chair Holly Humphrey, MD, and Board Member Peter Lee, PhD, were inducted into the prestigious National Academy of Medicine (NAM) during a ceremony on October 15 that was part of the organization’s annual meeting. The event marked the first time that the elected members from the NAM classes of 2019, 2020, and 2021 – numbering more than 300 in all – were welcomed in person, as those years’ ceremonies had been postponed due to the COVID-19 pandemic. 

“It’s wonderful to have such esteemed and insightful members of our Board receive the honor of being inducted into the National Academy of Medicine, and have their achievements recognized,” said Mark Schuster, MD, PhD, KPSOM Founding Dean and CEO. 

New members of NAM are elected by current members in a process that recognizes individuals who have made distinctive contributions to the advancement of healthcare, medical sciences, and public health. NAM’s Articles of Organization ensures a diversity of talent among members by stipulating that “at least one-quarter of the membership is selected from fields outside the health professions,” according to the organization. NAM membership totals more than 2,200, including 190 international members.

Schuster and KPSOM Board Member Andrew Bindman, MD, are members of NAM, as are faculty members Stephen Fortmann, MD; Eric Larson, MD, MPH, MACP; Tracy Lieu, MD, MPH; and Elizabeth McGlynn, MD, all Professors of Health Systems Science. 

In addition, Ying-Ying Go, MD, MSHS, Adjunct Associate Professor of Health Systems Science and Director of the Pasadena Public Health Department, was one of six people selected for the 2022-2023 class of Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Health Policy fellows at the National Academy of Medicine. Dr. Go has taken a one-year leave from her role with the City of Pasadena to take part in this prestigious fellowship program.